East Cobb Chiropractor – Structural Correction Chiropractor

How Do You Know When I’m Progressing?

I often talk with others who’ve seen chiropractors in the past, and they usually have the same sort of questions.  They’ll first tell me they’ve seen a chiropractor for a few visits here and there in the past.  Then they proceed to ask…

“I felt a little better, but how could I really be sure I was improving?.   There wasn’t any way to really measure it.  They took an initial x-ray, but no follow up.   Could it be that I’d probably get a little better on my own?”

I hear these types of questions often and that’s why I think it’s important to understand how we can measure progression.  There is subjective (which is opinion) and objective (which is based on some form of measurement).  I  find patients enjoy objective measurements because they can actually see the progression.  For example, when I sit down with a patient for a consultation, I very thoroughly explain what normal looks like on our 3 objective tests (structural thermographic scans, structural video x-ray, and structural radiographs).  Once they understand normal, I explain there are several indicators we look for to determine if a structural issue is present, or not.  I make this VERY clear and they will easily be able to identify this with their own eyes, without me pointing out where the issue lies.

Now, if we do find any structural issues, I also let them know a progress evaluation will be done in the future to measure, objectively, how things are improving.  Patients enjoying visually seeing the structural correction and an improvement on the indicators. If we are using logic (and we are), and we find indicators of any issues, shouldn’t we use these same indicators in the future to measure the progress?  I think so, yet many will find an initial x-ray was taken, but no follow up.  In these cases people are often left asking the same questions I mentioned above (How can I tell if I’m progressing)

Below you’ll find one example of our objective measurements, video x-ray.  This let’s you see normal, and exactly where vertebral locking is present.  In this example, we are looking at a side view of the neck, with the jaw to the right and the back of the head on the left.  Normal should appear as the head approaching the shoulders.  In the “before”, you’ll see this is not the case.  In the “after” you’ll see a complete change as the head approaches the shoulders.  This is one example of an objective measurement used in our office so that you can actually see the changes with your own eyes, and won’t be left asking “how do I know if I’m progressing?”

Leave a Reply

